2018 Jean Lumb Awards



The 21st Annual Jean Lumb Awards will be presented to seven outstanding students who have achieved excellence in:

  • Academics
  • Athletics
  • The Arts
  • Community Services
  • Defense of the Environment
  • Dignity of Life
  • Innovation


Applicants must be:

  • Enrolled in any grade in a high school or secondary school in Canada
  • Of Chinese heritage
  • Canadian citizen or landed immigrant
Value: Seven awards of $1,000 each
Process: The Jean Lumb Awards application requirements include:

  • Description of 500 words or less of how the student has achieved excellence
  • Two supporting nominations (at least one from the school)
  • Supporting documentation

Deadline for applications: Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Winners will be notified by August 31, 2018.

Announcement of Winners:


Background: The Jean Lumb Foundation is a not-for-profit charitable organization (Canada Revenue Agency #830582128 RR0001) with the mandate of advancing education and providing scholarships to high school/secondary school students of Chinese heritage. The Jean Lumb Awards were first presented in 1998.
Contact: Email: info@jeanlumbfoundation.ca

We thank the generous sponsors of the 2018 Jean Lumb Awards:

Platinum Sponsor
Chung-Kotcheff Family

Gold Sponsors
Choi King and John C. Mah Memorial
Chung-Kotcheff Family
Lue Family
Maximilian Family Fund
Murphy & Chung Chartered Accountants
University of Toronto Scarborough

Community Partners
Multicultural Historical Society of Ontario
Toronto Catholic District School Board
Toronto District School Board



Audrey, Jennifer, Tiffany, Saskia, Lukas, Sonia Ennevor, Donna Chandler, Jessica Chan (2015), Billy Liu, Anite Mak, Gordon Tang(2010), Judy Tran (2007), Bryan Yau (2015), Jimmy Chan(2012), Jeanet Wong, Alex Tran

Donor Acknowledgements
Charles and Linda Chan; Minde Chan; Vivian Chang; Rebecca Chong; Susan Chong; Susan Crean; Vern Dalgleish; Richard Desrocher; Denise Fujiwara; Susan Humphries; Becky Hung; Alan Joe; Philippa Kilbourn; Tony Lam; Ray and Roberta Lau; Jack Lee; Marilyn Lee; Bell Lew; Sandra Li; Jean Ling; Agnes Lo; Samuel Lo; Kien Luu; Anite Mak; Francis Mak; Kathy Munro; Suk Yin Ng; Megan Schroeder; Lydia Swanson; Jennifer Ziorli

Susan Appleton – In memory of the late David Appleton

Richard Desrocher – In tribute to Mr. and Mrs. Jung Shao Lu

Jung Shao, Dorothy Lu & Family – In memory  of the late Lui Siu Po

Ron and Lily Yee – In memory of the late Betty W. Yee

Cambridge Food and Wine Society; PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada Foundation; Urban Planet; Sirens; Imperial Buffet, Mississauga; Mandarin Charitable Foundation; Mandarin Restaurant(Scarborough); Mandarin Restaurant(Newmarket)Mandarin Restaurant(Yonge)Mill Street Brewery; Ming’s Restaurant; Nabelle; Tea Master’s Choice

Organizing Committee:
Arlene Chan Leslie Chan Tak Chen Olivia Chiu (2004)
Pam Collett Sarina Lee (2002) Kendra Lumb Valerie Mah
Jennie Norman Greg Wong Sandra Wong Stephen Wong
Judging Coordinator: Jennie Norman
Judging Panel:

Dr. Michael Dang, Board of Directors
Multicultural History Society of Ontario

Ms. Mary Lowe
High School Teacher (retired), Toronto District School Board

Derek Chen
Principal, Toronto Catholic District School Board

Ms. Sandra Li
Vice-Principal, Toronto District School Board

Event Photographer: Joseph Lam
Video: Jeanet Wong
JLF Website: Andrew Yeung (1999); Gordon Tang (2010); Judy Tran (2007)
JLF Work Group: Andrew Yeung (1999); Jimmy Chan (2012); Gordon Tang (2010); Judy Tran (2007)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jeanlumbfoundation
LinkedIn: Jean Lumb Foundation LinkedIn Group
Canada Helps: Jean Lumb Foundation Donations